Heritage House Museum of Montgomery County

Richard R. Whittington Award

Each year the museum selects an individual to receive the Richard R. Whittington Award.

The award is presented in memory of Dick Whittington, the museum’s benefactor. Selection is based on a person’s outstanding contributions to the museum because of their volunteer service, advocacy for the museum, and/or financial contribution.

This year’s recipient was Paula Morphew Newsom. Paula has been on the Board of Directors for one year, and prior to that served as a volunteer. She currently serves on the Accession, the Membership Drive, Advertising, Exhibit/Display and the Mauldin House committees. She has also put in numerous hours painting, helping with projects at the museum, along with being a greeter when needed. She has been an invaluable asset to the museum. CONGRATULATIONS!

2023 Richard R. Whittington Award recipient Paula Morphew Newsome with Museum Director Jeannie Brakefield

Past Recipients

Past Recipients of the Richard R. Whittington Award include:

2023 – Paula Morphew Newsom

2022 – Carla Vaughn

2021 – Bill Brown

2020 – Karen Hamilton

2019 – Debbie Baldwin

2018 – Mike Baxter

2017 – Steve Rabalais

2016 – Phillip Sutton

2015 – Bill Ray

2014 – Bruce Ball

2013 – Loretha Summit Ray

2012 – Ray & Sue Lawrence

2011 – Carl Smith

2010 – Lucille C. Phillips

2009 – J. Hodge Black

2008 – Richard L. Ray

2007 – Betty Flatte Prince

2006 – Charles E. Bates, Jr.

2005 – Kathryn Stucker

2004 – Leota Faye Black

2003 – Fred Standridge